Gospel of the Kingdom or the church?

Posted: August 16, 2011 in Kingdom & Church

Jesus never told us to build the church,  He said, ” you go preach the Gospel of the Kingdom and I will build My church.”

Do you remember Jesus showing the disciples how to pray?  He said, “Pray then,  this way” 

Our Father who is in heaven,
Hallowed be Your name. 
Your kingdom come.
Your will be done,
On earth as it is in heaven. (Matthew 6:9-10)

His Kingdom, and His Will to be done on earth as it is in heaven.  We have been called to advance the Kingdom of God on earth and He will build His Church. We are His Church, you don’t go to church, and you don’t have your own church. We need to change our minds (repent) about what we think the church is, and see the Church the way God see’s His Church.  Look in your Bibles, the ‘Kingdom of God’ is mentioned 63 times in the New Testament, and the ‘Kingdom of Heaven’ is mentioned 31 times in Matthew alone.  Jesus’ central message is the ‘Kingdom of God’ throughout the epistles.   How many times do you think the ‘kingdom of the church’ is mentioned?  UHM, it’s not.  Yet the Western/American church has embraced the ‘Gospel of the Church’, expecting God to advance His Kingdom.  This is completely backwards. The Church needs to be the by-product of advancing the Kingdom, not the other way around.

I believe that the American (Western) church has veered far from a biblical base of truth and light (advancing the Kingdom), into a corporate daycare model of bigger is better, more bodies equals more money, with feel-good non-offensiveness, and the gospel of political correctness. That being said, we need to remember that we are the church, we are His body, and His bride. The church is not a building or Sunday meeting, like most Americans think. So, let us be careful how we toss the word ‘church’ around, and make clear that the critiques of the church are usually, church as an establishment and/or the gospel of the Western (American) Church. Part of advancing the Kingdom is the act of overturning tables in the market place, and I (a son of God) take part in overturning tables, advancing the Kingdom for His Church, against Americas Church. Pray for His church! Love His bride!

Peace, and God Bless!

Comments
  1. Sorry, I haven’t posted in a long time (almost 2 months). I hope you enjoy!

  2. […] Gospel of the Kingdom or the church? […]

  3. Donald Borsch Jr says:

    You fired!

    Slacker. Some of us actually enjoy reading your stuff, my sir. If this kind of thing happens again, there shall be a swift and painful smack on your…well, you know where.

    I’m all about my church over God’s Kingdom. My church has all the programs and outreaches anyone needs to become a member. My Pastor has a Bible degree of some kind, and his wife is a great Associate Pastor as well. We have Friday Teen Pizza Night and on Saturday nights we have Holy Fire Spiritual Worship Service that is lead by our cool and hip Pastor of Worship. He’s so dreamy.

    See ya later, gator.

  4. Dave Swavely says:

    Another interesting and challenging blog, Wayne! I agree with the basic idea, as I think I’ve told you before, but I’ve been wondering if maybe a slight change in wording would clarify. The church of Jesus Christ is actually the current form of His kingdom in this world, so we should be careful not to draw too strong of a line between the two. I could point to many passages in this regard, but take the one you mentioned, Matthew 16:18-19. There Jesus says “I will build my church” and then in the next verse tells Peter “I will give you the keys to the kingdom” (preaching at Pentecost and Cornelius’s house to “open” the kingdom to the Jews and then Gentiles). In those verses “church” and “kingdom” are used synonymously. So to capture the very good idea you are communicating, how about we say something like, “We should be more about building God’s kingdom than building our church,” and “The kingdom of God isn’t about building MY church, but GOD’S church.” Also my favorite quote from your article: “The Church needs to be the by-product of advancing the Kingdom, not the other way around.” I love that! Keep up the good work!!

  5. floridawayne says:

    Dave,
    Thanks again for your comments.

    The line in the sand that I’m drawing is between Sunday morning church (i.e. western/american church) and Christ’s Church (we His people). I agree with your wording, it’s saying what I’m saying, but my emphasis is on the model of how we do church. There is a big difference between Sunday morning Christians, and 24/7 Christians, and it all starts with the model they have known and been shown.

    I love you brother! God Bless you!

Leave a Reply

