‘Judgement Day’ Prophesies (100% Failure)

Posted: May 11, 2011 in Kingdom & Church

In light of the car I saw parked outside the grocery store a couple of months ago warning me of the impending ‘Judgement Day, May 21st 2011’, and the fact that when I googled it, I read:

….May 11th–Rapture

….May 21st–Judgment Day

….October 21st–END OF THE WORLD

I decided to write my blog one day early, just in case I was to be raptured.  As I searched some of the sites today, I noticed that they have removed the May11th date and have combined it with May 21st. So I don’t have to worry about not being here tomorrow, according to Harold Camping and Family Radio.

Which leads me to the question, “How many times has there been Judgement Day prophesies?”. Thanks to Google I have done some of the foot-work for you and compiled a short list of failed ‘Judement Day Prophesies”.

…Micheal Baxter, an early 20th century prophesy teacher, pinpointed the date on March 12, 1903 between 2:30 and 3:00 am. I just wonder if he was able to keep his teaching job.

…Jehovah’s Witnesses, they got smart and just announced a year, 1914. Then another year, 1925, and another, 1975. Three strikes and your out-of-there, I guess they just gave up.

…Pastor Chuck Smith, founder of Calvary Chapel, in 1978 he proclaimed that the rapture was coming in May 1981. I think he learned from the JW’s not to pick an exact date, but did narrow it down to a month.

Edgar Whisenant, NASA rocket engineer turned prophesy teacher, predicted Jesus return between September 11th to September 13th 1988, then on the 14th of September updated it to October 3rd of the same year. He also wrote a book entitled ’88 Reasons Why the Rapture Will Occur in 1988′. I wonder if he was a better rocket engineer.

…Hal Lindsey, prophesy expert (uhm?), like Whisenant prophesied the return of Christ in 1988, maybe he read Whisenant’s book.

Lee Jang Rim, a Korean preacher announced the rapture to come on October 28th, 1992. Subsequentally he was sent to jail, and sadly many of his followers committed suicide.

…Benny Hinn, Florida Assemblies of God preacher predicted the rapture for 1993. Well he also said that God would destroy all homosexuals in America by 1994 or 1995 at the very least.

Harold Camping, civil engineer turned radio broadcaster, stirred up the world when he calculated ‘Judgement Day’ to be September 6th 1994 (oops), and now says that it is on May 21st. Everyone before him, including himself, have been 100% dead wrong.

“But there were false prophets also among the people, even as there shall be false teachers among you, who privily shall bring in damnable heresies, even denying the Lord that bought them, and bring upon themselves swift destruction.” —2nd Peter 2:1

Comments
  1. I’m in love with this post!

    • floridawayne says:

      This was supposed to be my farewell letter, it sucks that they reneged before the day got here!

      What will they (Harold Camping) say on the 22nd? UHM….WELL….I’m not a prophet, I’m a numerologist……..UHM…..WELL…..I could have been off by a couple of days in my calculations,////UHM……WELL……the bible told me! OH I almost forgot, thanks for your contributions, I’ll try to get it right next time! Jesus loves you!

      • LOL! I’m definitely looking forward to the 12th AND the 22nd. Maybe we shold have a party and call it the “We Survived the Rapture and Judgment Day and all we got were these crappy t-shirts! Party”!

  2. Jim McNally says:

    Lucky they were not Old Testament prophets, huh? Stones hurt…

  3. Jill J. says:

    I think according to Nostradomus, we should have been gone a long time ago….Wait, May 21st is 2012 kind of backwards….mmmmm..To those people that spent all their savings,”Didn’t everyone learn from Y2K?”

  4. Remy says:

    NO BODY KNOWS THE YEAR THE DAY THE HOUR THE MINUTE. NOT EVEN HEAVENS ANGELS KNOW THE COMING.
    THIS HAS BEEN SUCH A EPIC FAIL.
    GOD AND JESUS ARE COMING A DAY. U NEVER KNOW, TOMORROW, IN THE NEXT MINUTE.

  5. Dave Swavely says:

    Great examples! A book along these lines that I highly recommend is Last Days Madness, by Gary DeMar. The whole first chapter is filled with more examples like you gave, and the rest of the book explains what is really happening in Matthew 24 and Revelation (or what I believe at least)…

Leave a Reply

