A Call To Be On Your Guard

Posted: May 4, 2011 in Kingdom & Church

A CALL TO BE ON YOUR GUARD

ACTS 20:29-31

I know that after I leave, savage wolves will come in among you and will not spare the flock. Even from your own number men will arise and distort the truth in order to draw away disciples after them.

31 So be on your guard (“Therefore be on alert” NAS)

The apostle Paul clearly states that from among our own, men will distort the truth.

McLaren, Emerging Church, offers an evangelical vision that emphasizes tolerance and social justice. He, McLaren, contends that people can follow Jesus’s way without becoming Christian, and argues that Christians should be more concerned about creating a just “Kingdom of God” on earth than about getting into heaven, and said that followers of Jesus might not be the only ones to gain salvation.

(quotes from Washington Post)

 

Jesus says  John 14:6-7

“I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. If you really knew me, you would know my Father as well. From now on, you do know him and have seen him.”

Matthew 7:15-16

“Watch out for false prophets. They come to you in sheep’s clothing, but inwardly they are ferocious wolves. By their fruit you will recognize them.

Matthew 7:21-23

“Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only he who does the will of my Father who is in heaven. Many will say to me on that day, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name, and in your name drive out demons and perform many miracles?’ Then I will tell them plainly, ‘I never knew you. Away from me, you evildoers!

Acts 20:28

Keep watch over yourselves and all the flock of which the Holy Spirit has made you overseers. Be shepherds of the church of God, which he bought with his own blood.

Each believer has the responsibility to strengthen other believers. This is especially true of those who shepherd the flock. Jesus died for the church. Christians must live to strengthen it.

FINAL THOUGHT

 Acts 20:13-38 is the apostle Paul’s farewell to the Ephesian elders. We are not all pastors, or local church leaders or elders, but those of us who are adults in Christ, we are the shepherds of our families and friends. We cannot abdicate our responsibilities to study the word of God, and to know Jesus intimately. “I commend you to God and to the word of His grace, which is able to build you up and to give you the inheritance among all those who are sanctified.” (Acts 20:32 NAS) 

By wisdom a house is built, and through understanding it is established; through knowledge its rooms are filled with rare and beautiful treasures. A wise man has great power, and a man of knowledge increases strength. Proverb 24:3-5

 

Comments
  1. Wayne,

    Dude! McClaren actually said that nonsense? And people wonder why we are supposedly so intolerant of this nonsensical “Emergent Church” garbage.

    Fah.

  2. Wayne: have heard about you and read your comments over at “what’s his name’s blog” but first time commenting. This is as spot on as you can get. I gotta agree. People should not wonder why true followers of Jesus have trouble with McClaren et al brand of “christianity.” It is not and never will be what jesus put forth. Hard to believe people are falling for this but then again, I should be too surprised. Good offering Wayne. Now…if you can just change your choice of brothers. 🙂

    • floridawayne says:

      Bill,
      Thank you for your comment.

      This is an example of political correctness storming through the doors of the church. Trying to make Jesus comfortable for everyone. The hardest thing to swallow is that he (McClaren) is telling people they dont need Jesus to enter the Kingdom of God, and people are taking refuge in that message.

      I sure hope you are joking about changing my choice of brothers. I believe just as you cannot choose who your natural brothers/sisters are, you cannot choose who your spiritual brothers are. I love my brother, I stand with him, and hope you can respect that.

      ….Peace and Blessings to you and yours! God Bless!

      • Of course, I am joking. Donald and I have a mutual respect for each other. I am sorry if my way of joking was offensive to you.

      • floridawayne says:

        Any friend of Donalds’, is a friend of mine. I was not offended. I can be very sarcastic, and joke around with the best of them all. My comment was meant to answer both questions with one answer. Donald speaks highly of you, so no worries, it’s all good, I get jokes!
        Thanks again!

      • *sigh of relief* How good and pleasant it is indeed when brothers can dwell together in unity.

        Okay, enough of this chick-a-fied touchy-feely nonsense. Let’s get dangerous!

  3. Moe says:

    There is no question that we live in very challenging times. The true church lives in persecution. Not the I’ll cut your head off kind of persecution, but the “truth” persecution. This is a devilish mental and spiritual poison that is being spewed around us. The Gospel has become a “this is all about you” message instead of the message of a Just and perfect God who has provided love through the cross of His son Jesus Christ. This is why hell is so threatening to even some Christians. The only way a person can really (and I mean really) understand God’s love is by really understanding hell and judgment of a perfect and just God. This is why I throw my hands up in the air and worship the king of kings. I am a brand plucked from the fire! That alone is praise worthy!

    • floridawayne says:

      Well said, Moe!!

      Thank-you for your comment, you are always welcome here!
      ………….thanks again!

    • Moe,

      You said:
      “I am a brand plucked from the fire!”

      Knowing that a brand is what would be heated up and then pressed against an animal to permanently mark them, what is it you are hoping to be pressed against to permanently mark?

      There’s a blog topic right there, hermano. ( I’m a brand….and here’s what mark I am leaving.) Hmmm. Has potential.

  4. Ricki says:

    My hopes are climbing! For the past several years I have wondered whether more voices would begin to crop up to stand in the gap on behalf of God’s biblical truth–in light of the “evangelical cave ins” we are seeing all around us. And here they come… McArthur is certainly standing in the gap, Piper as well, of course many others, and now my nephew. I’m just singing, “Praise God from whom all blessings flow…”

  5. Dave Swavely says:

    Much of the “emergent church” is just a re-emerging of the modernist liberalism of a century ago in a postmodern garb. Take a look at J. Gresham Machen’s classic book Christianity and Liberalism, where he argued that true Christianity and liberalism (hence emergentism) are two different religions. Just as applicable today, one hundred years after it was written. There is nothing new under the sun…

Leave a Reply

